Uniting Baptist

Higher Education

The International Association of Baptist Colleges and Universities enriches member institutions by stimulating and supporting a quest for high-quality Christian higher education. The Association is a voluntary organization of colleges, universities, and schools that lay claim to their Baptist history, heritage and relationships. It fosters intentional Christian education, while cooperating in the advancement of mutual well-being of each member.
We have 46 member schools consisting of over 100,000 students in 16 states. If you would like to join the association please email Ashley Hill at ashleyhill@baptistschools.org

Who is eligible to join?

Any institution may apply to the Board of Directors for membership in the Association by documenting the following criteria:

  1. A post-secondary institution of Christian higher education accredited by a CHEA (Council on Higher Education Accreditation) recognized accrediting agency appropriate to the mission of the school. International institutions should be approved by either their government or by an accrediting agency in their country recognized by CHEA;
  2. Status as a non-profit organization;
  3. Affiliation with or in cooperation with a Baptist association or convention;
  4. Identification of itself as a Baptist institution;
  5. Commitment to the principles historically held by Baptists.

After the Board of Directors makes its recommendation, the decision on membership is made by a majority vote to the members of the Association, guided by their interpretation of the above criteria.

IABCU Staff

  • Gary Cook
    Gary Cook Chair

    Chancellor, Dallas Baptist University

    3000 Mountain Creek Parkway
    Dalls, TX 75211

    Phone: 214-333-5130
    Email: chancellor@dbu.edu

  • Ashley Hill
    Ashley Hill Executive Secretary

    Executive Secretary, IABCU

    800 Lakeshore Drive
    Birmingham, AL 35229

    Phone: 205-726-2036
    Email: ashleyhill@baptistschools.org

Executive Committee

  • Bobby Hall
    Bobby Hall Vice-Chair

    President, Wayland Baptist University

    1900 West Seventh Street
    Plainview, TX 79072

    Phone: 806-291-3400
    Email: hallb@wbu.edu

  • Stan Poole
    Stan Poole Treasurer

    Vice President of Academic Affairs, Ouachita Baptist University

    OBU Box 3761
    Arkadelphia, AR

    Phone: 870-245-5196
    E-mail: pooles@obu.edu

  • Anthony Allen
    Anthony Allen Recording Secretary

    President, Hannibal-LaGrange University

    2800 Palmyra Rd.
    Hanninal, MO 63401

    Phone: 573-629-3252
    Email: anthony.allen@hlg.edu

Board Members

Carolyn Bishop

President, Consortium for Global Education

1663 Mount Vernon Hwy, Ste. 200, Atlanta, GA 30338

Phone: 770-321-4897
E-mail: cbishop@cgedu.org

Blair Blackburn

President, East Texas Baptist University

One Tiger Drive, Marshall, TX 75670

Phone: 903-923-2222
Email: bblackburn@etbu.edu

Rick Brewer

President, Louisiana College

1140 College Drive, Pineville, LA 71360

Phone: 318-487-7400
Email: rick.brewer@lacollege.edu

Don Dowless

President, Shorter University

315 Shorter Avenue, Rome GA 30165

Phone:706-233-7201
E-mail:ddowless@shorter.edu

Marshall Flowers

Vice President of Academic Affairs, Bluefield College

3000 College Drive, Bluefield, VA 24605

Phone: 276-326-4355
Email: mflowers@bluefield.edu

Mike Hardin

Provost, Samford University

800 Lakeshore Dr, Birmingham, AL 35229

Phone: 205-726-2718
E-mail: mhardin@samford.edu

Jeff Iorg

President, Gateway Seminary of the Southern Baptist Convention

3210 E. Guasti Rd, Ontario, CA 91761

Phone: 909-687-1701
Email: jeffiorg@gs.edu

Thomas King

President, William Carey University

710 William Carey Way, Hattiesburg, MS 39401

Phone: 601-318-6495
E-mail: pres@wmcarey.edu

Barbara McMillin

President, Blue Mountain College

PO Box 160, Blue Mountain, MS 38610

Phone: 662-685-4771
E-mail: bmcmillin@bmc.edu

Lee Skinkle

Provost, Southwest Baptist University

1600 University Avenue, Bolivar, MO 65613

Phone: 417-326-1601
Email: lskinkle@sbuniv.edu

Pat Taylor

President Emeritus, Southwest Baptist University

Bolivar, MO

Email: ptaylor@sbuniv.edu 

Heath Thomas

President, Oklahoma Baptist University

500 West University, Shawnee, OK 74804

Phone: 405-585-5801
Email: heath.thomas@okbu.edu